My Booking Appointment

A few weeks ago I had my booking appointment and it really made all of this pregnancy shizzle seem real (and scary)!

First of all I was late. My appointment was at 10.15 but I didn’t think to check my mental note of 10.30 which was wrong. I panicked slightly when I tried to electronically sign in for my appointment to be told I was too late. Despite a ten minute wait in which I worried about the potential harm of having to re-book my first ever antenatal appointment, it was fine. The midwife was thankfully over running slightly so I was seen with no hassle.

I had to give the midwife a urine sample which was instantly checked for ‘proteins’ ( I still need to look up what that means in the context of pregnancy). I also got weighed and had lots of blood taken.

In the appointment, I was asked loads of questions. Interesting ones included ;’ Do you or your partner have a history of substance use?’, ‘ Do you feel like you are in a threatening environment?’.

These questions really made me grateful that my biggest non- issue at the moment is that P has gone new  kitchen hunting crazy

He wants to constantly talk about kitchens, visit kitchen showrooms and discuss banal kitchen equipment like taps. I’ve realised that in the grand scheme of things, boring kitchen talk is absolutely nothing.

I had to do a Carbon Monoxide test which revealed that the level of Carbon Monoxide in my body was 4 (1 to 3 is a healthy level). High Carbon Monoxide levels can affect our bubba’s growth. I was told this means I have a gas leak in my house (I don’t), second-hand smoked on my way to the appointment or have been breathing in car fumes . I literally left my house, walked past loads of greenery and went across one main road before my appointment. I did not see any smokers.

My reading really highlighted to me how much pollution there is  and I now dramatically go of out of my way to avoid those that are smoking around me

After all of my data was put into the system, it was highlighted that I need to see a consultant as I have pernicious anemia, an autoimmune condition which means my body does not absorb B12 from food so I need to have it injected every 3 months. Pregnancy may increase the symptoms of pernicious anemia and  how often I need injections.

The questioning, support and  information given during my booking appointment was very thorough. I feel like I’m in very good hands. I got so much information, I don’t think I really needed to buy a pregnancy book.

I love the NHS!

blog booking
Lots of leaflets, freebies, coupons, a pregnancy guide, pregnancy vitamins, a magazine…

I have my first scan next week and honestly I’m a bit scared. I was given a leaflet which highlighted all of the problems which can be found. There is no point of me worrying about it now. I’ll have to just see how it goes and deal with anything that may have to be dealt with. Thankfully, H is an optimist so I’m not just stuck with my fearful thoughts.

My Pregnancy Progress

Weeks:12 and 1 day (yay for 12 weeks!)

Size of bubba: The size of a lime (that is so cute/weird/oh my god our baby is growing)

Pregnancy Symptoms:  Prods and  a occassional whooshing feeling in my tummy, Tired

Clothes: I can’t wear t-shirts at the moment as my belly definitely shows now. We’re trying to keep our pregnancy on the down low until we’ve had our scan/tests. I’m all about empire line dresses and big jumpers at the moment.Give it about 3 weeks though and I doubt even they’ll be able to hide my bump.

Leave a Reply

